F2 – Markus Pommer powers to pole at the Hungaroring

Markus Pommer

German leads from Fontana and Marinescu

Markus Pommer powered to pole position during today’s (Sunday) Formula Two qualifying session at the Hungaroring, just edging out yesterday’s race winner Alex Fontana by three tenths.

The 21-year-old German was the only driver to break into the 1:33s with a faultless lap towards the end of the 30-minute sun-soaked session. Mihai Marinescu finished third but will be dropped five places following a penalty for an incident during Saturday’s race. Fourth spot went to Mathéo Tuscher while Dino Zamparelli impressed to complete the top five.

Tuscher was the early pace-setter as the session got underway, keen to bounce back after being caught up in the incident with Marinescu yesterday. Fontana remained a strong pole contender along with Kevin Mirocha as the halfway mark approached.

After the field had pitted for fresh tyres, it was David Zhu who was looking quick to go P2 with the Chinese racer eventually finishing 10th. Mirocha then went fastest after going purple in both sectors one and two before Pommer set what would become an unassailable time.

Just outside the top five was Christopher Zanella followed by Mirocha with championship leader Luciano Bacheta, who can mathematically secure the title this afternoon, in eighth. Daniel McKenzie finished ninth while Hector Hurst, who ended P11, will also take a five place grid penalty for causing a collision at Turn 2 yesterday.

Speaking afterwards Pommer said: “The lap was really good and smooth with no mistakes but I didn’t expect to be three or four tenths up but was confident it would be good enough for the front row. Yesterday was not so good as we had a gearshift issue but the laps we did today felt good and I’m looking forward to the race.”

Today’s second race gets underway at 14:30 (local time) with full coverage on the F2 website.

F2 Results: Hungaroring – Qualifying 2:

1. Markus Pommer, 1:33.971s
2. Alex Fontana, +0.370s
3. Mihai Marinescu, +0.381s*
4. Mathéo Tuscher, +0.524s
5. Dino Zamparelli, +0.539s
6. Christopher Zanella, +0.591s
7. Kevin Mirocha, +0.617s
8. Luciano Bacheta, +0.802s
9. Daniel McKenzie, +0.939s
10. David Zhu, +1.338s
11. Hector Hurst, +1.359s*
12. Max Snegirev, +1.386s
13. Axcil Jefferies, +1.485s
14. Richard Gonda, +1.770s
15. Plamen Kralev, +2.177s

* Denotes five place gird penalty

Comments are closed.