BRDC F4 News: BRDC F4 confirms expanded ITV4 package for 2014

BRDC F4 LogoThe BRDC F4 Championship will again be broadcast free-to-air in 2014 after series organisers MotorSport Vision (MSV) confirmed an extension to their agreement with leading broadcaster ITV. Continuing the arrangement from 2013, an hour-long standalone show will be screened one week after each of the events in a prime-time Sunday evening slot on ITV4 and ITV4 HD.

In addition, the shows will be available to view online via the ITV Player and on mobile devices following each broadcast. Coverage on ITV4 in 2014 will include a further weekday evening repeat.

As in 2013, the programmes will include highlights of all three races from each weekend, as well as pre-race build up, podium celebrations and post-race interviews. Each show will also include extensive profile features on the young aspiring F1 drivers that compete in the championship.

Niall Sloane, ITV’s Director of Sport said: “I’m delighted ITV4 will again be able to bring viewers the opportunity to see the very best of young British single-seater driving talent fighting it out in an increasingly important championship. The coverage of this series adds to the strength of ITV4’s motorsport portfolio.”

MSV Chief Executive Jonathan Palmer commented: “I am delighted that BRDC F4’s partnership with ITV4 has been extended for 2014 and that we will once again enjoy a prime-time Sunday evening slot for our highlights show, which is much appreciated by our teams and drivers. I’m also pleased that ITV has demonstrated its commitment and support to our championship by expanding its level of coverage for this season.

“With full grids of 26 cars expected for this season and many exceptionally talented drivers already committed, some of whom will be making their first steps into car racing, the races will make for compelling viewing!”

Editors’ Notes: BRDC Formula 4 Championship

The BRDC F4 Championship was launched in 2013 with the aim of being the single seater series of choice for young drivers on the route to Formula One. The 2013 season established F4 as the dominant and most competitive single seater series in the United Kingdom, with 11 different race winners from the 24 races and grid sizes averaging over 20 cars per event. The top three drivers in the championship, Jake Hughes, Seb Morris and Charlie Robertson were also nominated for the prestigious end of year McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Comments are closed.