F2 – F2 runner-up Mathéo Tuscher nominated for Autosport Award

Swiss driver Matheo Tuscher

Teen racer joins rookie shortlist alongside F1 stars

FIA Formula Two Championship runner-up Mathéo Tuscher has been nominated as Rookie of the Year for the prestigious Autosport Awards. His name appears alongside Formula 1 drivers Romain Grosjean, Charles Pic, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne, as well as drivers from Indycar, GP2, Formula Renault 3.5 and Formula 3. Read more of this post

Autosport Awards – Barrichello honoured

AT&T Williams’ Rubens Barrichello has won the prestigious Gregor Grant prize at the Autosport Awards. Held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, the British motorsport industry’s annual awards evening last night honoured Rubens’ extensive racing career and achievements across the sport’s various formulae. Rubens celebrated 300 Formula One races at this year’s Belgian Grand Prix and will contest his 19th season with the AT&T Williams team in 2011, making him the longest serving driver in the history of the sport.

Established in 1982, Autosport’s awards are handed out in recognition of particular achievement. Voted for by a panel put together by the magazine, its readers can also influence the outcome when they are given the opportunity to vote for their favourite drivers, team personnel and cars at the end of the racing season.

After receiving his award from Williams’ 1996 World Champion, Damon Hill, Rubens commented, “I’m so proud to get this trophy. I have had such a long life in the sport which has involved a lot of passion and a lot of speed. To hear so many kind words, especially from people like Sir Jackie Stewart, and to have my friends from Brazil there as well, made the night very special.”

Since their inception, Williams and its drivers have collected 28 Autosport Awards, including Frank Williams’ 2001 Gregor Grant Award and Patrick Head’s two John Bolster Awards for technical achievement.

Autosport Awards – Red Bull and Vettel win again

There were more wins for Red Bull Racing last night at the Autosport Awards in London as Sebastian was international racing driver of the year and the RB6 was named racing car of the in year.

Vettel was presented with his award by David Coulthard, his predecessor at the team.

Sebastian said: “It’s been a tiring month, but a very exciting one too. The wheels haven’t stopped turning yet.” Among those he beat to the title were Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti.

The Adrian Newey-designed car which helped Seb achieve his five wins and ten pole positions was also honoured.

Damon Hill, whose 1996 world title came in a Williams designed by Newey, presented the award to our chief technical officer.

“This year has been a very sweet one,” said Adrian. “And you just have to enjoy the moment. It’s been a long, hard season and we made hard work of it at some times. On the morning of the Abu Dhabi race, we thought ‘this is going to be difficult,’ but the race was like a game of poker in which we ended up with a royal flush.”

Between Sebastian and Mark the RB6 took nine wins, 15 pole positions – equalling the all time record – and six fastest laps, four one-two finishes and a combined total of 699 laps in the lead while the rest of the pack managed 430 between them.

Courtesy of www.redbullracing.com

Mclaren Autosport BRDC Award to Lewis Williamson

Lewis Williamson last night became the third consecutive Michelin Formula Renault UK driver to win the McLaren Autosport BRDC Award collecting the increased prize of £100,000 together with a Formula 1 test with McLaren.

In doing so, Lewis, from Golspie in Scotland, also become the eighth winner to come from the one-make single-seater championship which is a prominent support race to the British Touring Car Championship.

Lewis, who narrowly missed out on this year’s Formula Renault UK title by a mere six points, won the prestigious award which is often referred to as indicating the best young British driver competing at a National level. 

As well as £100,000, and a Formula 1 test in a McLaren, Lewis also receives full membership to the BRDC, a TW Steel watch, Puma racewear for a year, and the offer of media training with Lee McKenzie.

“I’m just in shock,” said Lewis on stage, who raced for Manor Competition this year and secured more wins than any other driver (five). “I just did what I’ve done all year; give it 100%. That’s all you can do.”

He was presented with his award at a star-studded ceremony at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel  by former winners David Coulthard and Paul di Resta who is also a former Formula Renault UK racer (2003 and 2004).

The 21-year-old was one of three Formula Renault drivers among the finalists – along with Formula Renault UK champion Tom Blomqvist and Formula Renault Eurocup runner-up Luciano Bacheta – together with Formula BMW Europe runner-up Jack Harvey, British Formula Ford runner-up Scott Malvern and Formula Palmer Audi champion Nigel Moore. There was consolation for 17-year-old Tom Blomqvist though after the Saffron Walden teenager still walked away with the British Club Driver of the Year Award.

This year Lewis impressed the judging panel, which included F1 veteran Derek Warwick, DTM ace Jamie Green and double BTCC champion Jason Plato, across a number of tests including a track assessment at Silverstone’s new South circuit in both an F2 car and a DTM machine and runs on a simulator.

Lewis is now the eighth Formula Renault UK winner to pick up the award and the third consecutive Manor Competition driver. Successful British Touring Car driver Darren Turner was the first winner to represent Formula Renault UK, winning the award in 1996 after finishing as Vice-Champion to David Cook. In 2002, Jamie Green won the award after finishing as Vice-Champion to Danny Watts, 2003 winner Alex Lloyd was Vice-Champion to Lewis Hamilton, while 2004 winner Paul di Resta was third overall behind champion Mike Conway and Westley Barber. Meanwhile 2009 saw Alexander Sims take the honours followed by Dean Smith last year.